Which Brands of Corn Flakes Are Gluten-Free?

Kellogg's are out, but we have several alternatives.

bowl of gluten-free cornflakes
Not all brands of corn flakes are gluten-free.. Alexandra Grablewski/Getty Images

Question: Are corn flakes gluten-free?

Answer: Even though corn by itself doesn't contain the type of gluten that makes us sick, most brands of corn flakes are not safe for those following the gluten-free diet. That's because the cereals contain ingredients — usually barley malt sweetener — that contain gluten.

Specifically, Kellogg's Corn Flakes cereal, a perennial favorite, includes "malt flavoring" as its third ingredient.

Sadly for those who enjoy that cereal, malt flavoring does contain gluten in the form of barley ... which places Kellogg's Corn Flakes on the "no" list for people who have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Gluten-Free Corn Flakes Options

Fortunately, there are options for people following the gluten-free diet who crave corn flakes:

  • EnviroKidz Amazon Flakes. Bite for bite, this is the closest you're going to come to Kellogg's Corn Flakes. Produced by Nature's Path (which makes all EnviroKidz cereals and other products), these corn flakes are made with certified organic cornmeal plus pure cane sugar. They're certified gluten-free by the GFCO, and produced in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and soy.
  • Erewhon Corn Flakes. This cereal is not a direct replacement for your über-sweetened traditional corn flakes — Erewhon corn flakes, made by manufacturer Attune Foods, don't contain any added sweetener at all. The only two ingredients are organic milled corn and sea salt, added to "enhance the subtle sweetness of the corn." They're certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO, which inspects facilities), and also are certified non-GMO and organic.
  • Nature's Path Corn Flakes. These are organic and sweetened by fruit juice (grape and/or pear juices), not sugar. As a result, you may find this cereal slightly less sweet, with a somewhat different texture than the corn flakes you're accustomed to eating, but many people like the flavor even better than they like the more "traditional" corn flakes cereals. They're gluten-free certified by the GFCO and produced in the same facility.
  • Nature's Path Honey'd Corn Flakes. If fruit juice-sweetened corn flakes don't appeal to you as much, you might prefer these, which use honey and evaporated cane juice. Otherwise, they include the same ingredients as the fruit juice-sweetened corn flakes, and are made in the same facility.

Is There a Mainstream Brand?

If you're looking for a gluten-free corn flakes option in a mainstream cereal brand that you can find in most grocery stores, you'll admittedly have trouble finding what you want.

However, you can find one gluten-free cereal that may fill your craving for sweet corn: General Mills' Corn Chex. Almost all General Mills' Chex cereals — including Corn, Chocolate, Cinnamon, Honey Nut and Rice Chex — are considered gluten-free.

Lovers of corn flakes may not have all the options they would like on the gluten-free diet, but they likely will find a cereal they'll enjoy.

Continue Reading