Gluten Free Hershey's Kisses

Only Some Flavors Are Safe

Hershey plain Kisses
© The Hershey Company

Plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, or ppm, according to Hershey's. (Learn more about what "parts per million" and other ways of measuring trace gluten really mean to you here: How Much Gluten Can Make Me Sick?)

Safe Kisses

The "safe" Hershey's kisses include:

  • Traditional silver-wrapped Hershey's kisses
  • Hugs candy (all varieties)
  • Plain milk chocolate kisses wrapped in colored foil that are sold for holidays such as Valentine's Day, Halloween and Christmas, and
  • Plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses sold in plastic candy canes at holiday time.

In addition, many of the flavored Hershey's chocolate kisses are considered to be gluten-free to the same 20 parts per million of gluten level. These include:

  • Kisses filled with caramel
  • Kisses filled with vanilla creme
  • Kisses filled with cherry cordial creme
  • Mint dark chocolate truffle-flavored Kisses
  • Pumpkin spice-flavored Kisses
  • Carrot cake-flavored Kisses
  • Special Dark "mildly sweet" Kisses (note that Hershey's Special Dark candy bars are NOT considered gluten-free)
  • Kisses Deluxe large-sized candies with hazelnuts and crispy rice

Kisses with Gluten

None of the other Hershey's kisses products are gluten-free, according to Hershey's gluten-free list. The non-gluten-free Hershey's kisses include:

  • Milk chocolate kisses with almonds
  • AirDelight kisses
  • Candy cane-flavored kisses (again, the plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses sold in plastic candy canes are considered gluten-free)
  • Holiday Kisses Mint Truffles wrapped in dark chocolate
  • Cookies 'N Creme Kisses

Yes, it can be very confusing.

Note that it's easy to mix up filled Kisses (which are considered gluten-free) with AirDelight Kisses (which are not considered gluten-free). The products' wrappers are very similar. It's also easy to mix up Hershey's Special Dark Kisses (which are considered gluten-free) with Hershey's Special Dark candy bars (which are not considered gluten-free).

Know for certain what you've got before you take a bite!

Finally, the jumbo Hershey's kiss products—the 7 oz., 5 oz. and 1.45 oz. kisses—are not considered gluten-free, according to the company.

The Bottom Line

If you like Hershey's kisses, make sure to purchase only the varieties listed above as appearing on Hershey's gluten-free list. Those three varieties are safe on the gluten-free diet while all other varieties are not.

Continue Reading