Gluten-Free Easter Candy (Updated March 2017)

Which Chocolate Bunnies and Candy Eggs Are Gluten-Free?

gluten-free easter candy
These Easter Peeps are gluten-free. April Bauknight/Getty Images

Wondering what gluten-free Easter candy is available this year to place in your child's Easter basket (or to enjoy yourself)? Here's the list of gluten-free Easter candy—as you'll see below, there are plenty of options you can use to make up a really nice gluten-free Easter basket.

Unless otherwise noted, these candies are considered by their manufacturers to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten, which makes them "gluten-free" according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's legal accepted definition.

One note: there seems to be plenty of debate each year over whether Cadbury Creme Eggs are gluten-free or not. In the U.S., Cadbury Easter products are made by Hershey's, which does not consider them to be gluten-free due to the potential risk of gluten cross-contamination in manufacturing.

However, the eggs appear to contain no gluten ingredients (Hershey's will specify any gluten-containing ingredients on the label). They are manufactured in a plant that also processes tree nuts and peanuts, but not wheat. Nonetheless, I recommend using caution with Cadbury Creme Eggs because Hershey's does not consider them gluten-free—despite safe-sounding ingredients, they may contain trace gluten.

Gluten-Free Easter Candy List

Here's the list of gluten-free Easter candy. If you're wondering about the gluten status of a candy product not on this list, you should be able to find information on it in my main candy article, Gluten-Free Candy.

  • Easter-themed Dove chocolate products, including Dove chocolate Easter bunnies, Dove egg-shaped candies and Easter-themed Dove bars, including Dove dark chocolate eggs, milk chocolate eggs, milk chocolate coconut creme eggs, milk chocolate peanut butter eggs, and caramel and milk chocolate flowers. Dove products are almost always safe, but always check the label, as I have occasionally seen Dove chocolate products with "made on equipment shared with wheat" warnings. Manufacturer Mars Inc. will identify gluten ingredients (including barley-based ingredients) on the product's label.
  • Most Easter-themed M&Ms chocolate products, including M&Ms solid milk chocolate Easter bunny, M&M candies in Easter colors, and egg-shaped M&M candies. Exceptions include pretzel M&Ms (which contain gluten) and some specialty flavored M&Ms, (which contain warnings about shared equipment). Beware especially of special M&Ms on sale for Easter, as some of these (the more exotic flavors) contain a warning about a shared facility. Vanilla Cupcake M&Ms, available for 2017, have a "may contain wheat" warning, as do milk chocolate egg-shaped M&Ms, specially wrapped for Easter. However, the peanut egg-shaped M&Ms appear safe. Again, always check the label, as Mars Inc. will call out any potential gluten cross-contamination on the label.
  • Plain milk chocolate regular-sized Hershey's Kisses in Easter-themed foil wrappers (for more on the gluten status of Hershey's Kisses products, check out Are Hershey's Kisses Gluten-Free?
  • Jelly Belly jelly beans (INCLUDING licorice flavor jelly beans) and all Jelly Belly specially themed Easter packages.
  • Easter-themed Starburst candy, including jelly beans and special Easter candy packages.
  • Easter-themed SweeTARTS candy (these have no gluten ingredients, according to manufacturer Nestle, which says it will disclose any potential gluten cross-contamination on the label).
  • Easter-themed Tootsie Roll candy, including Dubble Bubble Easter egg-shaped bubble gum, Tootsie Pops, Charms Blow Pops and Charms Candy Carnival products.
  • Peeps marshmallow treats by Just Born. Check the label to make sure it states "gluten-free" below the list of ingredients—most do, but a few are made in shared facilities, especially some of the newer, more offbeat flavor combinations.
  • Kraft Bunny Mallows and Egg Mallows (marshmallow Easter-themed treats). Kraft Foods Group Inc. does not label many foods gluten-free, but it will clearly disclose any gluten ingredients on the label.

Again, these candies are considered gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million.

If you have any questions about a specific product, contact the manufacturer.

Easter Candy That's NOT Considered Gluten-Free

• Balmer Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Brach's Speckled Jelly Bird Eggs
• Cadbury Creme Eggs (see note above)
• Cadbury Mini-Eggs
• Cadbury Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Frankford Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Ghirardelli chocolate Easter eggs
• Hershey's Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Hershey's Easter egg candies (all sizes and flavors)
• Jolly Ranchers jelly beans and other Easter-themed candy
• Lindt chocolate carrots
• Lindt Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors) and Lindt chocolate carrots
• Mighty Malts Speckled Malted Milk Eggs
• Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cups in holiday shapes (note that regular Reese's are included on Hershey's gluten-free list, so be careful what you purchase)
• Russell Stover Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Sweetarts jelly beans and other Easter-themed candy
• Whoppers Robin Eggs and Mini Robin Eggs
• Zachary chocolate-covered marshmallow eggs

Continue Reading