Which Sodas Are Gluten-Free?

woman reaching for colorful soda
Jamie Grill/Getty Images

Fans of soda who also happen to have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity will be pleased to know that most popular sodas (known as "pop" in some places) are considered gluten-free by their manufacturers. Popular sodas that are considered gluten-free by their manufacturers include:

  • Coca-Cola
  • Diet Coke
  • Pepsi
  • Diet Pepsi
  • 7UP
  • Sprite

However, before you run out and buy cases upon cases of various sodas to enjoy, a word or two of caution is in order.

First, this list applies only to the United States and (where noted) Canada; unfortunately, formulations vary (sometimes significantly) by country, and a soda that's considered safe in the U.S. might not be safe in other places. In addition, some sodas may have no gluten ingredients but may be manufactured on shared equipment or in a shared facility, making them unsafe for those of us with celiac or gluten sensitivity.

Second, this list only applies to brand-name sodas. Generic or store-brand versions of the same drinks may or may not use the same ingredients, and may not be gluten-free. Unless the store labels its own products "gluten-free," you may be better off buying the name brand.

Third, these beverages are all quite processed and are considered gluten-free only to less than 20 parts per million (20 ppm) of gluten (a lower number is better). Therefore, if you tend to react to less gluten than that—as many people do—it may take some trial and error for you to find a soda brand that suits your particular level of sensitivity.

 

Gluten-Free Soda List

Here's the list of major soda brands and flavors that the manufacturers consider to be gluten-free (plus a couple of popular sodas that do not appear on the gluten-free lists):

  • A&W Root Beer. A&W Root Beer, part of the Dr. Pepper-Snapple beverage group, is considered gluten-free to 20 ppm, according to the company.
  • Barq's. Barq's, a Coca-Cola company, makes root beer and creme soda. Barq's root beer, caffeine-free root beer, diet root beer and Red Creme Soda all are considered gluten-free (to 20 parts per million) in both the U.S. and Canada.
  • Coke and Coca-Cola. According to the Coca-Cola Co., the following Coke-branded products are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm in the U.S.: Coca-Cola, Caffeine-Free Coca-Cola, Diet Coke, Caffeine-Free Diet Coke, Coka-Cola Zero, Cherry Coke, Diet Cherry Coke, Cherry Coke Zero, and Diet Coke with Splenda. Note that in Canada, some of these products do not appear on the gluten-free list. 
  • Dr. Pepper. All Dr. Pepper products are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm, according to the company. "Note: All products, which contain high fructose corn syrup, may contain trace amounts of corn gluten. According to the Celiac Sprue Association, corn gluten is not harmful to people with Celiac Sprue disease. We encourage consumers with specific questions about Celiac Sprue to contact the Celiac Sprue Association," the company says. Corn gluten is not the same substance as the gluten in wheat, barley, and rye, and people with celiac and gluten sensitivity do not need to avoid it.
  • Fanta. Fanta Grape, Fanta Orange, and Fanta Orange Zero, all Coca-Cola products, are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm in the U.S. but don't appear on Coke's Canadian gluten-free list.
  • Fresca. Fresca, another Coca-Cola product, is on the gluten-free list for both the U.S. and Canada, meaning it meets standards of 20 parts per million.
  • MelloYello, also made by Coca-Cola, does not appear on the company's gluten-free list, meaning it does not meet the company's gluten-free standards.
  • Mountain Dew, produced by PepsiCo., appears on that company's gluten-free list, meaning it meets standards for less gluten than 20 ppm.
  • Mug Root Beer. Both Mug and Mug Cream Root Beer (both Pepsi products) are considered gluten-free by the company.
  • Pepsi. All Pepsi-branded carbonated sodas, including Diet Pepsi, Pepsi NEXT, and Pepsi One, are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm.
  • 7UP. 7UP, which is part of the Dr. Pepper-Snapple beverage group, considers all of its sodas gluten-free to 20 parts per million. 7UP makes the same statement about corn gluten as does Dr. Pepper.
  • Sierra Mist is made by PepsiCo. and is considered gluten-free (again, to 20ppm).
  • Sprite. Both Sprite and Sprite Zero (made by Coca-Cola) are gluten-free to 20ppm in both the U.S. and Canada.
  • Sunkist. Sunkist makes several fruit-flavored drinks that blur the lines between sodas and fruit punches. All its products are considered gluten-free to 20ppm.

Again, this list is only valid in the U.S. and (where noted) Canada.

A Word From Verywell

Note that many of these products contain caramel coloring as an ingredient. It's possible to make caramel coloring out of gluten grains, and gluten grain-based caramel coloring is used outside the United States. However, in the U.S., you're unlikely to encounter a gluten grain-based version of caramel coloring, so you shouldn't worry about it in the context of sodas. Caramel coloring is one reason why you need to be cautious with sodas produced for sale in other countries.

Finally, if you have some doubts about an off-brand soda you've just been handed, you may just want to drink some plain bottled water—fortunately, that's always gluten-free!

Continue Reading