Can You Eat Rye on the Gluten-Free Diet?

In most cases, no. But imitation 'rye' bread is okay if it's gluten-free

rye field
Rye looks a lot like wheat ... and it's closely related. kacege photography / Getty Images

Rye is one of the three gluten grains. It contains a protein called secalin, which is a form of gluten. Therefore, any food containing rye as an ingredient is most definitely not safe on the gluten-free diet.

It gets trickier when we address rye whiskey, as you'll see in a minute.

In baked goods that use flour, you'll mainly find rye in sandwich bread — for example, it's common in German and Eastern European countries to use rye flour in bread with caraway seeds, and in pumpernickel bread.

In addition, crackers and crisp breads frequently contain rye, and those that do also are off-limits for someone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Identifying Gluten-Containing Rye on Food Labels

Food labeling laws do not require disclosure of gluten on labels, but in practice manufacturers generally will want you to know that there's rye flour or rye grain in a product, since it's considered to be a premium ingredient.

Therefore, if you see mention of rye (or its Latin name, secale) on a label, you should steer clear of that product.

Triticale is a hybrid of rye and wheat, and contains gluten, so avoid any products containing triticale, too.

Gluten-Free 'Rye' Bread Options

For those who crave that dark bread taste and texture, some gluten-free manufacturers make gluten-free "rye" breads.

For example, Three Bakers offers a gluten-free rye-style bread, and Canyon Bakehouse Gluten-Free makes Deli Rye-Style bread, a gluten-free sourdough mock rye bread.

Both these brands have very stringent standards for gluten cross-contamination — their products are tested to make certain they include fewer than 5 parts per million of gluten.

Rye Whiskey Considered Safe By Some, But Not All

Now, back to questioning whether rye whiskey is gluten-free or not.

Rye whiskey is made from rye grain — in fact, in the U.S., the mash to be distilled must start out life as at least 51% rye to qualify as "rye whiskey."

Since rye whiskey is distilled, many celiac disease associations consider it to be gluten-free; the distillation process theoretically breaks down and removes the proteins that cause our reactions. Many people with celiac or gluten sensitivity report that they can drink distilled gluten grain-based alcoholic beverages without any problem — reactions are very individual.

However, some people with celiac or gluten sensitivity (it's not clear how many) actually have strong reactions to alcohol distilled from gluten grains. Often, symptoms of a gluten reaction to these alcoholic beverages include inebriation and a hangover that are wildly out of proportion to the amount of the alcohol you actually consumed, coupled with more conventional glutening symptoms, such as diarrhea or constipation and brain fog.

Therefore, I urge you to proceed with caution if you want to try rye whiskey, especially if you seem more sensitive than average to trace gluten. You can read more about this in Is Alcohol Gluten-Free?

The Bottom Line

Avoid rye bread and crackers and anything that contains triticale, which is a cross between rye and wheat. Also, tread carefully when trying rye whiskey, since some people do react.

Continue Reading