List of Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma Types

The list of non-Hodkin lymphoma types.

There are two main categories of lymphoma:
1) Hodgkin’s lymphoma -- and here is the link out to Hodgkin’s.
2) Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, which accounts for nearly 90 percent of all lymphomas, is comprised of far more types than Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma – List of Types

Lymphomas are malignancies of the lymphoid tissues, including lymphocytes—a type of white blood cell. There are B-lymphocytes and T-lymphocytes, or B-cells and T-cells, for short. Non-Hodgkin lymphoma has many types and subtypes. Here, bullets indicate subtypes. So, for example below, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma is listed with two major subtypes: primary mediastinal B-cell lymphoma and intravascular large B-cell lymphoma.

B-Cell Lymphomas

Burkitt lymphoma

Burkitt-like lymphoma

Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, or DLBCL

  • Primary mediastinal B-cell lymphoma, or PMBL
  • Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma, or IVL

Follicular lymphoma

Hairy cell leukemia -- sometimes considered a lymphoma

Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma aka Waldenström’s macroglobulinemia

Mantle cell lymphoma

Marginal zone B-cell lymphomas

Primary central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma

Small lymphocytic lymphoma, or SLL aka chronic lymphocytic leukemia, or CLL

T-cell lymphomas

Precursor T-lymphoblastic lymphoma/leukemia

Peripheral T-cell lymphomas:

Cutaneous T-cell lymphomas

  • Mycosis fungoides
  • Sezary syndrome
  • Others

Adult T-cell leukemia/lymphomas

  • Smoldering subtype
  • Chronic subtype
  • Acute subtype
  • Lymphoma subtype

Angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma

Extranodal natural killer/T-cell lymphoma, nasal type

Enteropathy-associated intestinal T-cell lymphoma – EATL

  • Type 1 EATL
  • Type 2 EATL

Anaplastic large cell lymphoma

  • Primary cutaneous
  • Systemic

Peripheral T-cell lymphoma, unspecified


Lymphoma Adjectives and Descriptors

The majority of lymphomas are nodal lymphomas, meaning they originate in the lymph nodes.

It’s possible, however, for lymphomas to arise almost anywhere. When a  lymphoma is believed to have originated outside the lymph nodes, it’s called extranodal lymphoma, or more precisely, primary extranodal lymphoma. The term 'primary' implies a starting point. So, while most lymphomas start in the lymph nodes, sometimes they start in other structures. For instance, a rare lymphoma that originates in the brain and central nervous system, or CNS, is called a primary CNS lymphoma. Primary CNS lymphoma is a primary extranodal lymphoma.

A lymphoma that spreads to other organs from the lymph nodes is NOT considered a primary extranodal lymphoma. In order to be primary extranodal, the lymphoma has to have originated outside the lymph nodes. Lymphoma that was widespread, or systemic, and came to involve the brain or other structures of the centeral nervous system would be called secondary CNS lymphoma.

Cutaneous is an important adjective that refers to the skin. Anaplastic is an adjective that describes cells that do not have the expected characteristics of mature cells, sometimes look primitive or lack the differentiation of healthy, mature cells.

Enteropathy is a disease of the intestines, especially the small intestines.

Type 1 enteropathy-associated intestinal T-cell lymphoma is linked to gluten-sensitive enteropathy, or celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease in which gluten, a wheat protein, results in the gluten-sensitive person making antibodies that attack their own intestinal lining, as well as other tissues.


American Cancer Society. Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. Accessed August 2015.

National Cancer Institute. Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program. Accessed August 2015.

Continue Reading