Printable Gluten-Free Food List

If you're following a gluten-free diet, this printable list of gluten-free foods can serve as a guide to what you should — and shouldn't — buy at the grocery store.

Fruits and Vegetables:

  • All fresh fruits and vegetables — those that are sold loose in the produce section of the grocery store — should be safely gluten-free.
  • Watch out for pre-packaged fruit and vegetable products with more than one ingredient (including frozen and canned goods), which may contain gluten or be subject to cross-contamination in processing. On those, make sure to check labels for gluten-containing ingredients or for warnings that the product was processed in a shared facility.

    Meats and Fish:

    • Fresh meats, poultry and fish with no added ingredients are safe if they're kept away from gluten cross-contamination at the store (this type of gluten exposure can occur when fresh plain products are displayed next to breaded products in a glass display case, for example).
    • Watch out for pre-packaged products, such as hams, bacon, sausages and lunch meats, since they may or may not contain gluten.
    • Several manufacturers label their processed meat products gluten-free — see my lists of gluten-free hamgluten-free bacon and gluten-free sausage for details.

    Milk and Dairy Products:

      Breads, Snacks, Cereals, Cakes and Pastas:

      • Almost anything you buy in these categories should be specifically labeled "gluten-free." See my lists of gluten-free cerealsgluten-free bread brands and gluten-free snacks for details.
      • Most grocery stores carry a few of these gluten-free staples, and some -- like Whole Foods and Fresh Market may boast a wider selection -- but you may find the best selection online.

        Prepared Foods:

        • Only buy frozen dinners or frozen pizzas specifically marked "gluten-free" — some larger supermarkets carry a nice selection. I've seen frozen gluten-free burritos and pasta-based meals in major chain stores recently.
        • Many canned soups contain gluten, so check the ingredients -- my list of gluten-free soups will show you what's safe. 
        • Ethnic food sections in supermarkets frequently contain some prepared foods that are gluten-free. Look for Thai and Indian dishes — they'll be marked "gluten-free."

        Baking Mixes and Supplies:

        • Any baking mix you purchase should be specifically labeled "gluten-free." Remember that white flour (the primary ingredient in most mainstream mixes) is made from wheat, which is one of the three gluten grains.
        • When you're purchasing alternative grain flours like buckwheat (which is gluten-free), soy and rice flour, make sure they're specifically labeled gluten-free (some are not safe).
        • Many baking supplies, such as baking soda, sugar and cocoa, are considered gluten-free, but you always should check ingredients to make certain. Check out my lists on gluten-free cornstarchgluten-free sugar and gluten-free tapioca for safe brands.

        Condiments, Sauces and Spices:

        This can be a minefield -- many products in this category contain gluten ingredients, and even single-ingredient products like spices can be subject to significant gluten cross-contamination.

        • For spices, Spicely is certified gluten-free, and McCormick's will clearly label any gluten-containing ingredients, but does not test for cross-contamination. See my list of gluten-free spices for more brands.
        • Heinz ketchup and French's yellow mustard are considered gluten-free, as are some popular salsa brands. See my lists on gluten-free ketchupgluten-free mustard and gluten-free salsa for more safe brands. 
        • Salad dressing can contain gluten ingredients, although many do not. Organicville salad dressings are certified gluten-free; for other safe options, check out my gluten-free salad dressing list.

        Coffee, Tea, Soda, Fruit Drinks and Alcohol:

        • Unflavored coffee and plain black or green tea should be gluten-free, but flavored varieties may not be. See my articles Is Coffee Gluten-Free? and Is Tea Gluten-Free? for which brands are safe.
        • The most popular sodas in the United States, including Coke and Pepsi, are considered gluten-free (see my Gluten-Free Soda List for more brands). AriZona bottled iced teas also are considered gluten-free — for more brands, see my gluten-free iced tea list. The vast majority of energy drinks are considered gluten-free, but to be certain, check your favorite against my gluten-free energy drink list.
        • Juice made from 100% fruit should be gluten-free, but fruit drinks made from fruit plus other ingredients may not be (check out gluten-free juice for safe brands).
        • You'll need to buy gluten-free beer, since conventional beer contains gluten -- safe brands will be prominently labeled "gluten-free."
        • Wine is considered gluten-free, although you should be wary of flavored wines.
        • All distilled alcohol (vodka, whiskey, bourbon, etc.) is considered gluten-free even if it's made from gluten grains, but many people react to gluten grain-derived alcoholic beverages. If you're one of them, you should probably stick with alcohol not derived from gluten grains, such as rum or tequila, or with gluten-free vodka (made from potatoes, grapes or corn).

        For many more details on how to shop for gluten-free food, check out this extensive guide: The Ultimate List of Gluten-Free Foods

        Continue Reading