Vegan Condoms

(c) 2009 Elizabeth R. Boskey licensed to About.com, Inc.

Vegans don't always have an easy time sticking to their ideals. It's not that hard to avoid meat products, if you're a vegetarian. However, vegans try to avoid all animal products. It's amazing where those things can sneak in. Surprisingly, one place where milk products can be an issue is when picking a condom for safe sex.

Why are vegan condoms necessary? It turns out that many condom companies process their latex condoms using casein.

Casein is a protein derived from milk.

Price:

Average. Vegan condoms cost about the same as other condoms, but cost varies from brand to brand.

Ease of Acquisition:

Glyde condoms, which are currently registered as vegan with The Vegan Society, are easy to find online but hard to locate in your local drug store. RSFU condoms, which are certified as vegan by The Vegan Action Foundation, may be similarly difficult to locate offline.

Other condoms, such as the Durex Avanti Ultima condom and several Pasante brands are currently formulated as vegan condoms, but they are not registered as vegan products. They are, however, probably easier to find in your local drug store.

Use During Vaginal Intercourse:

There is no reason not to use vegan latex condoms for any activity you would normally use a latex condom for, including vaginal sex.

Use During Anal Sex:

Vegan condoms should be fine for use during anal sex.

Just make certain to find some good vegan lube to go with them. Just make sure that it's condom safe. You want to avoid vegan oil based lubes just as much as non-vegan oil based lubes.

Use During Oral Sex:

They may engender a debate over whether oral sex is a vegan activity. However, there is no reason not to use vegan condoms for oral sex.

In fact, it might make the act more vegan if you consider bodily fluids to be an animal product...

The Verdict:

It would never have occurred to me that a condom wouldn't be vegan. Then someone asked me how to find vegan condoms. That's when I learned about the casein situation. One of the reasons I love this job is that I learn something new every day!

As mentioned above, casein is usually the ingredient that makes condoms not vegan. Fortunately, it turns out that there are several condom companies that do not use casein to make their condoms. Furthermore, at least two of them (Glyde & RFSU) have registered with vegan groups. (Companies do this as a pledge to remain animal-friendly.) Condoms companies that have taken the animal-friendly pledge use no animal testing and no animal by-products.

Vegan latex, polyurethane, or polyisoprene condoms should have the same safe sex benefits as the non-vegan variety. I think it's wonderful that condom companies are marketing safe sex to the vegan community.

Anything that encourages more people to practice safe sex is fine with me.

Did you know: Soy-based cheese often contains casein. This makes many soy cheeses not vegan products. If you're a vegan, casein is something you should look for on the ingredients list.

Continue Reading