Vegan Gluten-Free Pizza

Choose Frozen Convenience or Make Your Own

If you love pizza but you're faced eating gluten-free and vegan, don't despair: you actually have multiple options.

Two manufacturers now make frozen gluten-free vegan pizzas, and you also can make your own crust using gluten-free pizza crust mix and then top it with your choice of vegetables.

Feeling more adventurous? Try making your own vegan gluten-free pizza from scratch, using roasted vegetables or soy "cheese" products from the store. Just make sure any cheese substitute you use also is gluten-free.

Here's what's available in vegan gluten-free pizza:

Amy's Kitchen Vegan Pesto Gluten-Free Pizza

amy's gluten-free vegan pizza
© Amy's Kitchen

Amy's Kitchen makes a variety of gluten-free pizzas, including a pesto pizza for those who don't want — or can't have — dairy products. Amy's rice crust pesto pizza includes mozzarella- and ricotta-style soy "cheeze," along with a crust based on organic sweet rice flour, organic potatoes and organic tapioca.

The company tests its products to make sure they contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

More »

BOLD Organics Vegan Pizzas

© BOLD Organics

BOLD Organics makes two vegan and gluten-free frozen pizzas — a "cheese" pizza and a veggie lovers' pizza with organic roasted red peppers, yellow onions and shitake mushrooms. Both pizzas use mozzarella cheese alternative, which is a tofu-based product. Just be sure not to pick up one of their other gluten-free pizzas, which are topped with meat, or one of their gluten-containing pizzas — I've frequently seen BOLD Organic's regular pizzas displayed in the freezer case right next to the gluten-free options.

The company is certified gluten-free by the Celiac Sprue Association (CSA), which requires testing to below 5 parts per million. It's also certified organic and verified non-GMO.

More »

Whole Foods 365 Vegan Gluten-Free Frozen Pizza

Copyright © Whole Foods Inc.. Copyright © Whole Foods Inc.

Giant health supermarket chain Whole Foods produces a vegan gluten-free frozen pizza as part of its 365 house brand. The pizza does not use faux "cheese" — instead, it's topped with roasted vegetables.

Whole Foods bills its vegan gluten-free frozen pizza as having "no gluten ingredients" rather than "gluten-free" because it's not tested for gluten cross contamination and it's produced in a facility that also makes gluten-based products. However, the company reports it uses "good manufacturing procedures" to prevent cross contamination.

More »

Vegan Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mixes

Copyright © Namaste Foods LLC. Copyright © Namaste Foods LLC

If you want to make your own vegan gluten-free pizza, you can experiment with gluten-free pizza crust mixes. Several of these mixes include no animal ingredients. Most do call for adding eggs and/or milk, but you should be able to make them with egg and milk substitutes.

Namaste's Gluten-Free Pizza Crust Mix actually can be made vegan according to the directions — the product includes brown rice, tapioca, arrowroot and spices, and calls for adding only oil and water.

More »

Continue Reading